What languages are spoken in Curaçao?

Curaçao/Official languages

Do they speak English in Curaçao?

Yes, most ‘Yu di Korsou’ (people born and raised in Curaçao) speak English, Dutch, Spanish, and Papiamentu. Recently many people have also picked up Portuguese due to the influx of visitors from Brazil and the fact that our native language Papiamentu is closely related to Portuguese.

What language is spoken in Willemstad Curaçao?

Curaçao has a population of 158,665 (January 2019 est.) and an area of 444 km2 (171 sq mi); its capital is Willemstad….Curaçao.

Curaçao Kòrsou
Capital and largest city Willemstad 12°7′N 68°56′W
Official languages Dutch Papiamentu English

Why do they speak Dutch in Curaçao?

In 1634, the Dutch established the West India Company (WIC) on the island of Curaçao. The Chamber of Amsterdam administered the WIC, which meant that most businesses were in Dutch. Dutch, however, was not the most common language to speak on the island. Back then, less than 10% of the population spoke Dutch.

Is Papiamentu a language?

Papiamentu, also spelled Papiamento, creole language based on Portuguese but heavily influenced by Spanish. In the early 21st century, it was spoken by about 250,000 people, primarily on the Caribbean islands of Curaçao, Aruba, and Bonaire.

What language does Martinique speak?

Martinique/Official languages

Its official language is French, although many of its inhabitants also speak Antillean Creole (Créole Martiniquais). Its capital is Fort-de-France.

Is Dutch spoken in Curaçao?

The official languages in Curaçao are Dutch, Papiamentu, and English, but of those Papiamentu is used the most in local TV shows, in parliament, and on the street.

How do you say thank you in Curaçao?

13 Papiamento Greetings

  1. Have a good day: Pasa un bon dia.
  2. Good Morning: Bon dia.
  3. Goodbye: Ayo.
  4. Good afternoon: Bon tardi.
  5. Good evening: Bon nochi.
  6. Please: Por fabor.
  7. Thank you: Danki.
  8. Thank you very much: Mashi Danki.

What language is spoke in Belize?

Belize/Official languages
Languages of Belize English is the official language of Belize, but most of the population also speaks a creole patois, and many Belizeans are multilingual. Yucatec, Mopán, and Kekchí are spoken by the Maya in Belize.

Is papiamentu a language?

What is Curaçao named for?

The continent was named after Amerigo Vespucci because he proved it was indeed a new world and not Asia’s eastern outskirts, like Christopher Columbus believed until his death in 1506. Vespucci took part in the Spanish expedition under the command of Alonso de Ojeda in 1499.

What language is Danki?


Welcome Bon bini
Fine, thank you Bon, danki
Thank you very much Masha danki
You’re welcome Na bo ordo
See you later Te aworo

What language do they speak on Curacao?

Although Curacao’s official language is Dutch, most of the islanders speak a dialect called Papiamentu. Curacaoans even spell the name of their island Kursow, which is a Papiamentu word. This Creole language originates from a mixture of Portuguese, Spanish, Dutch, and several African languages.

What is the official language of Curacao?

Dutch is the official language of Curacao, a Dutch colony. The Papiamentu language is a multifaceted Creole language based on different languages of Dutch, Portuguese, Arawak Indian, French, Spanish, and several African dialects.

Do they speak English in Curacao?

Many of the local people speak at least three different languages, and the majority speak English along with their native tongue. The official language of Curaçao is Dutch, but the island has been infused with so many different international cultures that many languages can be heard on the island.

What is the language spoken in the island Antigua?

In which Caribbean countries is English the official language? Anguilla. On this tiny Caribbean island, people speak English and Anguillan Creole English. Antigua and Barbuda. In Antigua, you’ll hear English and Antiguan English Creole spoken. The Bahamas. Inhabitants of the Bahamian islands speak primarily English and Bahamian Creole. Barbados. Bermuda. British Virgin Islands. Cayman Islands. Dominica. Grenada. Guyana.