Who won the English Football League in 1979?

8 May 1979: Liverpool beat Aston Villa 3–0 at Anfield to clinch the First Division title.

Who Won 1st Division 1979 80?

Liverpool won the First Division title for the fourth time in five seasons, finishing two points above Manchester United, who had their best league campaign for more than a decade.

Who won the Premier league in 1978?

The 1978–79 season was the 80th completed season of the Football League. Bob Paisley won his third league title at Liverpool as his side fought off competition from Nottingham Forest and West Bromwich Albion.

Who won the second division in 1979?

1979/80 Second Division Table

pos Team pld
1 Leicester 42
2 Sunderland 42
3 Birmingham 42
4 Chelsea 42

Who won Football League in 1980?

Aston Villa
Crystal Palace endured a dreadful season with just six wins, all at home. They were joined in relegation to the Second Division by Norwich City and Leicester City….1980–81 Football League.

Season 1980–81
Champions Aston Villa
← 1979–80 1981–82 →

When did Chelsea get promoted to the first division?

Chelsea FC timeline 1905 The first game on Stamford Bridge is played in September. 1907 The club is promoted to First Division for the first time.

Who won the first division in 1981?

2 May 1981: Aston Villa seal their first league title for 71 years despite losing their final game of the season 2–0 to Arsenal as Ipswich Town lose 2–1 to Middlesbrough, their third League defeat in four matches.

Who won the English league in 1984?

The match will be replayed at a neutral venue on 28 March. 28 March 1984: Liverpool win an unprecedented fourth successive Football League Cup by beating Everton 1–0 in the replay at Maine Road with captain Graeme Souness scoring the only goal of the game.

Who won the Premier League 1977?

14 May 1977: Liverpool are confirmed champions of the Football League First Division for the second season running and for the tenth time in total following a 0–0 draw with West Ham United. Manchester City finish second.

Who won the league in 1974?

Leeds United
1973–74 Football League

Season 1973–74
Champions Leeds United
← 1972–73 1974–75 →

Who won the English Football League in 1981?

1 April 1981: Liverpool win the Football League Cup for the first time, winning the replay 2–1 against West Ham United at Villa Park.

Who won Football League in 1981?

The 1980–81 season was the 82nd completed season of The Football League. Ron Saunders completed the revival of Birmingham club Aston Villa, as they won the First Division for the first time in 71 years….1980–81 Football League.

Season 1980–81
Champions Aston Villa
← 1979–80 1981–82 →