Who was the first bishop of Lichfield?

Chad, the first known bishop of Lichfield, was appointed by King Wulfhere of Mercia (d. 675). Earlier in his career, Chad is known to have spent time at the monasteries of Rath Melsigi in Ireland and at Lindisfarne, which had strong Irish connections.

How many bishops are there in C of E?

Governance. The Church of England is described as being episcopally-led (there are 108 bishops in total) and synodically governed. This means it’s led by bishops and its practices are decided by the General Synod.

Where does the Bishop of Stafford live?

The Bishop of Stafford is set to retire from his role in November – the Diocese of Lichfield has announced. The Right Reverend Geoff Annas will leave the position shortly before his 66th birthday and return with wife Ann to live in Southampton, where he served before moving to Staffordshire in 2010.

How many suffragan bishops are there?

73 bishops suffragan
Suffragan bishops As of 26 July 2021, there are 73 bishops suffragan, plus the Archbishops’ Bishop (who is neither diocesan nor suffragan, but the incumbent has not been a diocesan).

What is the name of Lichfield Cathedral?

Lichfield Cathedral in Lichfield, Staffordshire, England, is the only medieval English cathedral with three spires. The Anglican Diocese of Lichfield covers Staffordshire, much of Shropshire, and parts of the Black Country and West Midlands.

Which county is Lichfield Cathedral in?

county of Staffordshire
Lichfield lies in the county of Staffordshire and boasts a splendid medieval cathedral. 1300 years ago, Lichfield stood at the centre of what was then the Kingdom of Mercia. When Chad was made Bishop of Mercia in 669 he moved the focus of his diocese from Repton to Lichfield.

Is archbishop above bishop?

Archbishop is a bishop of higher rank or office. Archbishops can be elected or appointed by the Pope. Archbishops are the highest of the three traditional orders of deacon, priest, and bishop.

How many cardinals are there?

As of 18 August 2021, there are 219 cardinals, 122 of whom are cardinal electors. The most recent consistory for the creation of cardinals was held on 28 November 2020, when Pope Francis created 13 cardinals, including 9 cardinal electors.

What is the staff the bishop carries called?

crosier, also spelled crozier, also called pastoral staff, staff with a curved top that is a symbol of the Good Shepherd and is carried by bishops of the Roman Catholic, Anglican, and some European Lutheran churches and by abbots and abbesses as an insignia of their ecclesiastical office and, in former times, of …

What are the 4 types of bishop?


  • Bishop emeritus.
  • Diocesan bishop.
  • Major archbishop.
  • Primate.
  • Suffragan bishop.
  • Titular bishop.
  • Coadjutor bishop.
  • How many Anglican bishops are there?

    883 bishops
    As of 2020 the Anglican Communion (as recognised by the Anglican Consultative Council) consists of 865 dioceses and 18 additional Ordinary jurisdictions (see list below) giving a total of 883 bishops; this total includes 77 archbishops (or equivalents, such as ‘Presiding Bishop’), of whom 41 have the status of ‘primate …

    How many cathedrals are there in Lichfield?

    three cathedrals
    There are only three cathedrals in the United Kingdom with three spires. Lichfield Cathedral, dating from the 13th and early 14th centuries is the only medieval cathedral.

    Where does the Bishop of Lichfield Live in England?

    The bishop’s seat is located in the Cathedral Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Saint Chad in the city of Lichfield. The Bishop’s residence is the Bishop’s House, Lichfield, in the cathedral close. In the past, the title has had various forms (see below).

    What was the purpose of Lichfield Theological College?

    Lichfield Theological College was founded in 1857 to train Anglican clergy to serve in the Church of England. It was located on the south side of the Cathedral Close in Lichfield, Staffordshire and closed in 1972. Cecil Cherrington, lecturer, later Bishop of Waikato, New Zealand

    Who is the Bishop of the Diocese of Mercia?

    The Bishop’s residence is the Bishop’s House, Lichfield, in the cathedral close. In the past, the title has had various forms (see below). The current bishop is Michael Ipgrave, following the confirmation of his election on 10 June 2016. The diocese of Mercia was founded 656 by Diuma with its see at Repton.

    Who is the Bishop of the Diocese of Shrewsbury?

    Bishop Sarah is the anglican Bishop of Shrewsbury* – the part of the Diocese that covers the northern part of Shropshire as far south as Shrewsbury and Telford.