Which party is strong in Kerala 2021?

The election saw the incumbent Left Democratic Front (LDF) retaining power with 99 seats, 8 more than in the previous election, marking the first time that an alliance won consecutive terms in the state since its 1977 election.

How many parties are there in Kerala?

National parties

Sl No Party Name Symbol Name
1. Communist Party of India Ears of Corn and Sickle
2. Communist Party of India (Marxist) Hammer, Sickle and Star
3. Indian National Congress Hand
4. Nationalist Congress Party Clock

Who CM Kerala?

Following the 2016 Legislative Assembly election, Pinarayi Vijayan became the Chief Minister of Kerala.

How many parties are in Kerala?

Recognised State Parties

Sl No Party Name Symbol Name
1 Indian Union Muslim League Ladder
2 Janata Dal (Secular) A Lady Farmer Carrying Paddy on her head
3 Kerala Congress (M) Two Leaves
4 Revolutionary Socialist Party Spade and stoker

Who is governing Kerala?

The Government of Kerala, formally and commonly referred to as Kerala Government is the state government of the Indian state of Kerala. The government is led by the chief minister (currently Pinarayi Vijayan, 25 May 2016), who selects all the other ministers.

What are the major parties in Kerala?


  • Communist Party of India. Ears of Corn and Sickle.
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) Hammer, Sickle and Star.
  • Indian National Congress. Hand.
  • Nationalist Congress Party. Clock.
  • Bahujan Samaj Party. Elephant.

How many members are in Kerala Legislative Assembly?

Kerala has a unicameral house of legislation, Niyamasabha, consisting of 140 members elected for a period of five years, unless dissolved earlier, and one nominated member for the Anglo-Indian community. The tenure of the members of the 14th Legislative Assembly in the state ended on 1 June 2021.

Who is the Deputy Chairman of Kerala Congress?

On 17 March 2021, P. C. Thomas announced that his party Kerala Congress has merged with the Joseph faction of Kerala Congress to form a new party, with him being its Deputy Chairman. P. C. Thomas party currently haven’t any bracket on its name, so new party will called Kerala Congress.

Which is the first Legislative Assembly in India?

After India’s independence responsible governments were formed in Travancore and Cochin. In 1949 the merger of Travancore and Cochin as Travancore-Cochin, formed the first Legislative Assembly, the Travancore-Cochin Legislative Assembly composed of 178 members of the Legislative bodies of Travancore and Cochin.

Who is the sitting MLA of PALA Constituency?

In February 2021, Mani C. Kappan, the sitting MLA of Pala constituency, switched to the UDF after the LDF denied his request to contest in Pala constituency in the election. This resulted in NCP expelling him from the party, following which he formed a new political party named Nationalist Congress Kerala (NCK).