When was the arts included in the Australian curriculum?

The Australian Curriculum: The Arts was published in July 2015. The curriculum includes content and achievement standards for each arts subject at Foundation,Years 1–2, Years 3–4, Years 5–6, Years 7–8 and Years 9–10.

When was the Australian curriculum first implemented?

The Shape of the Australian Curriculum, first approved by the council of Commonwealth and state and territory education ministers in 2009, guided the development of the Australian Curriculum.

What subjects are encompassed by the arts learning area in the Australian curriculum?


  • Drama.
  • Media Arts.
  • Music.
  • Visual Arts.
  • When was the National Curriculum introduced?

    1988 Education Reform Act The first statutory National Curriculum was introduced by the Education Reform Act 1988 by Kenneth Baker. The Programmes of Study were drafted and published in 1988 and 1989, with the first teaching of some elements of the new curriculum beginning in September 1989.

    Why the arts are important to the Australian curriculum?

    The arts entertain, challenge, provoke responses and enrich our knowledge of self, communities, world cultures and histories. The Arts contribute to the development of confident and creative individuals, nurturing and challenging active and informed citizens.

    What does Acara stand for?

    Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority
    The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is an independent statutory authority with a vision to inspire improvement in the learning of all young Australians through world-class curriculum, assessment and reporting.

    What year is the latest Australian curriculum?

    The updated version of the F–10 Australian Curriculum will be available in 2022.

    How is the Australian curriculum used in schools?

    The Australian Curriculum can be used flexibly by schools, according to jurisdictional and system policies and schedules, to develop programs that meet the educational needs of their students and that extend and challenge students. existing curriculum development cycles and processes.

    What are the arts subjects?

    Here are the major subjects under Arts Stream in Class 11 and Class 12:

    • Geography.
    • History.
    • Political Science.
    • Psychology.
    • English.
    • Hindi.
    • Sanskrit.
    • Sociology.

    What are the 8 key learning areas?

    Disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding are described in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages.

    What year is the current national curriculum?

    All local-authority-maintained schools in England must teach these programmes of study. The majority of this national curriculum was introduced in September 2014, with English and maths coming into force for all year groups from September 2016.

    What was the purpose of the 1988 national curriculum?

    The national curriculum required that all schools teach the same subject content from the age of 7-16. From 1988 all schools were required to teach the core subjects English, Maths, Science etc at GCSE level. GCSE’s and SAT’s were also introduced as part of the National Curriculum.

    When was the revised Australian Curriculum for the Arts published?

    The revised Australian Curriculum: The Arts was published in December after the review of the Australian Curriculum was completed. Work sample portfolios for Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts were published on the Australian Curriculum website. Each portfolio demonstrates student learning in relation to the achievement standard.

    What are the aims of the Australian Curriculum?

    In addition to the overarching aims of the Australian Curriculum: The Arts, visual arts knowledge, understanding and skills ensure that, individually and collaboratively, students develop: conceptual and perceptual ideas and representations through design and inquiry processes.

    What is arts learning area in Australian Curriculum?

    In the Australian Curriculum, The Arts is a learning area that draws together related but distinct art forms.

    When does the new Australian Curriculum come out?

    The updated version of the F–10 Australian Curriculum will be available at the start of 2022. Click here for more information