What is considered a small town in Australia?

In this article, small towns are places with urban features that have populations of less than 10,000 (but usually more than 200) people.

What is the smallest city in New South Wales?

Burrawang, New South Wales.

What is the biggest inland city in NSW?

Wagga Wagga
Wagga Wagga is the major city of the Riverina and the largest inland city in New South Wales.

What are 5 towns NSW?

Macquarie Towns or the Five Macquarie Towns is the collective term for the towns of Castlereagh, Pitt Town, Richmond, Wilberforce and Windsor, all located on and around the Hawkesbury River in New South Wales, Australia. All five towns were established in December 1810 by Governor of New South Wales Lachlan Macquarie.

What is the best country town to live in NSW?

15 beautiful country towns to visit in NSW

  • Milton – 2h50m S of Sydney.
  • Mudgee – 3h20m NW of Sydney.
  • Jugiong – 3h20m SW of Sydney.
  • Scone – 3h25m N of Sydney.
  • Orange – 3h35m W of Sydney.
  • Young – 3h50m WSW of Sydney.
  • Corowa – 6h SW of Sydney.
  • Newrybar – 8h N of Sydney.

What is the best small town to live in in Australia?

In fact, at the time of the 2016 Census, 2.3 million people were living in small towns in Australia. Some of the best small towns to live in are Airlie Beach and Maleny, in Queensland, and Geelong, southwest of Melbourne.

What is the largest inland city in Australia?

The table below shows the largest inland towns (UCLs) in Australia at 2011 – of course as our national capital it’s no surprise that Canberra is ranked first….Geography issues – again.

Rank 1.
UCL name Canberra
State ACT
2011 population 355,596

Is Dubbo bigger than Bathurst?

Bathurst will swell to a population of 51,550 by 2031, beating out Dubbo which is projected to reach 46,500 people – and Orange, which could reach 46,250 people, according to projections from the NSW Department of Planning and Environment.

Is Dubbo bigger than Tamworth?

According to the 2001 census….Largest cities by population in New South Wales.

Ranking Region Population
10 Tamworth, NSW 32,543
11 Orange, NSW 31,970
12 Dubbo, NSW 30,937
13 Queanbeyan, NSW 29,928

What are the 3 largest inland cities in Australia?

Geography issues – again

Rank UCL name Population growth 2006-2011
1. Canberra 33,560
2. Pakenham 14,107
3. Melton 9,684
4. Ballarat 7,714

What is the most populated town in NSW?

List of places in New South Wales by population

Rank Urban centre Population
2011 census
1 Sydney 3,908,642
2 Newcastle 308,308
3 Central Coast 297,713

What are the 5 Macquarie towns?

The establishment of towns and communities in structured permanent locations was the ultimate goal and in these early days of his governorship he so named and designated the principle locations of what are now known as the five Macquarie Towns of the Hawkesbury; Richmond, Windsor, Wilberforce, Pitt Town and Castlereagh …

Which is the third largest city in NSW?

Wollongong is situated on the east coast of New South Wales, 82km south of Sydney in an area known as the Illawarra. It is the third largest city in NSW. Wollongong is an aboriginal name, meaning “the sound of the sea”. Albury is situated in the south of New South Wales, on the border with Victoria.

How big is New South Wales in km²?

New South Wales (NSW) is Australia’s fifth biggest state and covers an area of 801,428 km². If it were a country in its own right, it would probably be the 37th biggest in the world, just behind Pakistan but ahead of Turkey. The UK could fit into NSW about 3 1/4 times and it is bigger than California and New Mexico put together.

Which is the most populated city in New South Wales?

Most Populated Cities of New South Wales. 1. Sydney. Sydney has the highest population in New South Wales and Australia at large. With an area of 4,775.2 square miles, the Sydney had a population of 4,321,535 as of the census in 2016.

How are statistical divisions in New South Wales?

Statistical Divisions (SD) form the main structural hierarchy of statistical analysis. These regions are structured to provide a broad range of social, demographic and economic statistics. The basis for the boundary delineations center on socioeconomic criteria. The thirteen divisions for New South Wales are: