What is a SAQA Unit Standard?

SAQA Home. REGISTERED QUALIFICATIONS AND UNIT STANDARDS. QUALIFICATION. The formal recognition of the achievement of the required number and range of credits and other requirements at specific levels of the NQF. Determined by the relevant bodies registered by SAQA.

What are NQF Unit Standards?

Unit standards are a collection of knowledge, skills and attributes in which a learner must prove competence in a structured assessment to gain credit on the NQF.

How do I check my SAQA qualifications?

Verification of South African Qualifications

  1. Clients that have a legal contract with SAQA for verifications must send an email to [email protected].
  2. Individual requests for verification letters must be sent to [email protected].

What is my NQF level?

The National Qualifications Framework

Levels Designation
5 Higher Certificates and Advanced National (vocational) Cert.
6 National Diploma and Advanced certificates
7 Bachelor’s degree, Advanced Diplomas, Post Graduate Certificate and B-tech
8 Honours degree, Post Graduate diploma and Professional Qualifications

How many credits is NQF 5?

120 credits
Qualifications: credits, modules and NQF levels

New NQF level Vocational Professional
7 Advanced diploma Bachelor degree Advanced diploma
6 Diploma (240 credits and 360 credits) Diploma (360 credits)
6 Advanced certificate (120 credits)
5 Higher certificate (120 credits)

What is a unit standard name?

Each unit standard is a recipe for individual bricks. It shows how a particular skill, knowledge area, attitude and / or value can be covered and assessed. The key ‘ingredients’ in a unit standard are: specific outcomes and. related assessment criteria.

What are the 3 types of unit standards?

There are three types of unit standards:

  • Fundamentals. language and mathematical literacy. a second language is required at NQF Level 4.
  • Core. essential unit standards to meet the qualification area of specialisation.
  • Elective. providers can select from a variety of electives linked to the qualification.

What is the relationship between SAQA and NQF?

SAQA must advise the Minister of Higher Education and Training on NQF matters in terms of the NQF Act. SAQA must also perform its functions subject to the NQF Act 67 of 2008 and oversee the implementation of the NQF and ensure the achievement of its objectives.

Do employers check qualifications?

Checking qualifications If you need particular qualifications, training or licences for a job, your employer may ask for proof that you have them. They should let you know if they are carrying out these checks and if they plan to keep copies of any relevant documents on file.

What is saqa certificate?

The SAQA Certificate of Evaluation (SCoE) indicates the recognition decision taken by SAQA in respect of a foreign qualification and the comparability of that qualification with a South African qualification registered on the NQF. SAQA holds the copyright to the SCoE and it remains the property of SAQA.

What NQF level is N5?

Level 5
N5: National Qualification Framework (NQF) Level 5.

What are SAQA credits?

SAQA uses a credit system based on the idea that one credit equals 10 notional hours of learning, motivated in context in each case. ‘Notional hours of learning’ refers to the learning time that it would take. an average learner to meet the outcomes defined.

Where can I find all Saqa unit standards?

Search for all qualifications and unit standards, no matter what their status Link http://allqs.saqa.org.za/ Copied to clipboard Most Viewed This Week Registration of Qualifications and Part-Qualifications Evaluation of Foreign Qualifications Verification of South African Qualifications

Is the NQF level the same as the pre 2009 level?

In the text (purpose statements, qualification rules, etc), any references to NQF Levels are to the pre-2009 levels unless specifically stated otherwise. This unit standard does not replace any other unit standard and is not replaced by any other unit standard.

Who is the source for South African NQF qualifications?

If the material is reproduced or quoted, the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) should be acknowledged as the source. In all of the tables in this document, both the pre-2009 NQF Level and the NQF Level is shown.

When was Saqa Unit Number 2552 re-registered?

This Unit Standard was originally registered on 12 June 2002 under SAQA decision number 0742/02. It has been re-registered on 11 February 2004 under SAQA 2552/04. PROVIDERS CURRENTLY ACCREDITED TO OFFER THIS UNIT STANDARD: