What are the 9 different classes of invertebrates?

  • Phylum Porifera (Sponges)
  • Phylum Cnidaria (Coelenterates)
  • Phylum Platyhelminthes (Flatworms)
  • Phylum Echinodermata (Echinoderms)
  • Phylum Mollusca (Mollusks)
  • Phylum Nematoda (Nematodes)
  • Phylum Arthropoda (Arthropods)
  • Phylum Annelida (Annelids)

What are the 5 invertebrate classes?

Insects, annelids, mollusks, echinoderms, protozoa, crustaceans, and arachnids are all invertebrates.

What are the 4 main invertebrate classes?

There are mainly four kinds of invertebrates as listed below by Phylum.

  • Phylum Mollusca.
  • Phylum Annelida.
  • Phylum Arthropods.
  • Phylum Coelenterata.

What are the 8 groups of invertebrates?

Terms in this set (8)

  • Porifera. Sponges.
  • Cnidarian. Jellyfish.
  • Platyhelminthes. Flatworms.
  • Nematoda. Roundworms.
  • Annelida. Segmented worms.
  • Mollusca. Clams oysters squid snails.
  • Arthropods. Insects crabs lobster ticks.
  • Echinoderms. Starfish sea urchins sand dollars.

What are the 6 main groups of invertebrates?

The Invertebrates unit explores six groups of invertebrates— poriferans (sponges), cnidarians (such as sea jellies and corals), echinoderms (such as sea urchins and sea stars), mollusks (such as octopuses, snails, and clams), annelids (worms), and arthropods (such as insects, spiders, and lobsters).

What are the 6 classes of invertebrates?

What are the 7 invertebrates groups?

The most familiar invertebrates include the Protozoa, Porifera, Coelenterata, Platyhelminthes, Nematoda, Annelida, Echinodermata, Mollusca and Arthropoda. Arthropoda include insects, crustaceans and arachnids.

What are the 3 groups of invertebrates?

3 Familiar Groups of Invertebrates There are over one million invertebrates (1.25 million to be exact) that have been described by scientists (National Geographic 2012). There are three main groups that may be very familiar to you: insects, arachnids and crustaceans.

What are the 4 classes of arthropods?

Arthropods are divided into four major groups:

  • insects;
  • myriapods (including centipedes and millipedes);
  • arachnids (including spiders, mites and scorpions);
  • crustaceans (including slaters, prawn and crabs).

How many different types of invertebrates are there?

So far, 1.25 million species have been described, most of which are insects, and there are millions more to be discovered. The total number of invertebrate species could be 5, 10, or even 30 million, com- pared to just 60,000 vertebrates. One reason for the success of invertebrates is how quickly they reproduce.

How many species of invertebrates are there?

What are the 8 classifications of invertebrates?

All invertebrates obtain food differently, some have a mouth, and others have a beak. The eight different phyla are, Porifera, Cnidarians, Platyhelminthes, Nematoda, Annelida, Echinodermata, Mollusca, and Arthropoda. Invertebrates either reproduce sexually or asexually.

What are the 6 groups of invertebrates?

There are seven primary groups of invertebrates in the animal kingdom. They are sponges, ctenophores, cnidarians, echinoderms, worms, mollusks and arthropods.

What is the largest class of invertebrates?

Invertebrates or Insects. Insects are different from most other invertebrates. They are the largest Class of organisms and account for over 75% of all animal species. Insects can be separated from other invertebrates as they generally have 6 legs and conform to a common body plan.

What are the 5 different classes of vertebrates?

There are five classes of vertebrates: fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals. General characteristics of vertebrate animals include their comparatively large size, the high degree of specialization of parts they exhibit, their bilaterally symmetrical structure, and their wide distribution over the earth.