How many UN agencies are in Kenya?

23 UN agencies
Today there are 23 UN agencies operating from Nairobi.

Where are the four UN headquarters located?

New York City
The UN is headquartered on international territory in New York City and has other main offices in Geneva, Nairobi, Vienna, and The Hague.

How many UN staff are in Nairobi?

At present there are over 60 offices of UN Funds, Programmes and Agencies in or operating from Kenya. Total number of UN staff working in Kenya is close to 4600.

Which UN agency is located in Africa?

United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) OCHA, part of the UN Secretariat, has regional and country offices in Africa.

When was Kenya admitted to UN?

16th December 1963
Kenya became a member of the United Nations on 16th December 1963 and has since then served on the Security Council 1973-74 and 1997-98.

What are the six UN agencies?

The main bodies of the United Nations are the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the UN Secretariat.

Where do UN employees live in Nairobi?

Popular areas for expatriate housing include the area around Gigiri and the Runda Estate, as well as the upmarket suburbs of Muthaiga, Spring Valley, Loresho, Westlands, Riverside Drive, Nyari Estate and Lavington.

Who is a UN staff member?

UN Staff Members – Field Service categories (FS) Field Service, or “FS” staff members provide administrative, technical, logistics and other support services to United Nations field missions.

How many UN offices are in Africa?

There are currently seven peacekeeping operations in Africa. UN peacekeepers serve in the Central African Republic, in two regions of Sudan, including Darfur (with the African Union) and Abye, in South Sudan, Mali, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Western Sahara.

Where is the UN located?

Much of the UN Secretariat is located in New York City, USA. The UN also has three major Offices outside of its Headquarters and five Regional Economic Commissions.

How many United Nations agencies are in Kenya?

Today there are 23 UN agencies operating from Nairobi. 1975: UNEP moves to its current location in Gigiri and was joined by UNCHS (today called UN-HABITAT). The two formed the nucleus of United Nations presence in Kenya, today comprising 23 agencies.

Where is the United Nations Office in Nairobi?

The complex of buildings is located next to the Karura Forest in the Gigiri district of Nairobi, along United Nations Avenue. It stands across the street from the US Embassy in Kenya. The UN complex contains a ‘green’ building, a completely energy and carbon-neutral building, housing UNEP and UN-Habitat offices.

Where is the headquarters of the United Nations?

The United Nations Office at Nairobi (UNON) is one of four major United Nations office sites where numerous different UN agencies have a joint presence. Established in 1996, it is the UN’s headquarters in Africa.

When did the United Nations move to Kenya?

In 1996, the United Nations Office at Nairobi (UNON) was established, becoming one of four major UN office sites and the UN’s headquarters in Africa. The 1970s saw further expansion of the United Nations presence in Kenya when the country become host to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).