Who led the most laps in Indy 500?

Al Unser
Indianapolis 500 Race Summaries

Rank Driver Laps Led
1 Al Unser 644
2 Ralph DePalma 612
3 Mario Andretti 556
4 A.J. Foyt 555

Who won the Indianapolis 500 in 2014?

Ryan Hunter-Reay
2014 Indianapolis 500/Winners

What is the fastest lap at the Indianapolis 500?

What is the fastest lap ever recorded? Just as the 2013 race was full of broken records, so too was the 1996 Indy 500. The most prominent record fell on the 78th lap when Eddie Cheever raced around at 236.103 mph, the quickest in history.

Who ran out of gas on the last lap of the Indy 500?

Dan Wheldon won it — his fourth victory in five tries this year — ending 35 years of frustration and failure for the Andretti at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as Patrick’s electrifying run fell short with a nearly empty fuel tank.

What driver has won the Indy 500 the most times?

Most career victories Legendary drivers A.J. Foyt (1961, ’64, ’67, ’77), Al Unser (1970-71, ’78, ’87) and Rick Mears (pictured, 1979, ’84, ’88, ’91) share the record for most Indianapolis 500 victories, each having earned the Borg-Warner trophy four times.

Who has won the Indy 500 2 times?

Bill Vukovich
Bill Vukovich won the 500 twice in 1953 and 1954, and was one the most respected drivers of his time. It was thought by many that Vukovich was on his way to becoming the most dominant driver in Indianapolis racing history.

Who won the 2015 Indy 500?

Juan Pablo Montoya
The victory capped off a successful return to Indy car racing for Montoya. The 1999 CART champion and 2000 Indy 500 winner had left American open-wheel racing for Formula One for 2001–2005….2015 Indianapolis 500.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Indianapolis 500
Season 2015 IndyCar Series season
Date May 24, 2015
Winner Juan Pablo Montoya

Who won the Indy 500 in 2013?

Tony Kanaan
2013 Indianapolis 500/Winners

Do Indy 500 drivers pee?

Yes, it’s probably exactly what you suspect: Indy 500 racers pee in their suits. But you would too if you were as short on time as they are during a race.

Who is the oldest driver to win Indy 500?

Who is the oldest winner of the Indianapolis 500? A. Al Unser was 47 years, 360 days old when he won the 71st Indianapolis 500 on May 24, 1987.

Who won the 2020 Indy 500 today?

Helio Castroneves
Fan favorite Helio Castroneves held off Alex Palou at the finish line to win the 105th running of the Indy 500. He now joins A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears as the only four-time winners of the Greatest Spectacle of Racing.

Who is Helio Castroneves wife?

He was educated in the São Paulo school system. In 2000, he changed his surname from Castro-Neves to Castroneves to stop the media misidentifying him as “Helio Neves” or “Helio Castro”. Castroneves has a daughter with his long-time partner Adriana Henao.

Who has the most Indy 500 wins?

United States (Indianapolis) The most Indianapolis 500 wins is four and is shared by A.J. Foyt Jr (USA) (b. January 16, 1935) in 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977; Al Unser Sr (USA) (b. May 29, 1939) in 1970-71, 1978 and 1987; and Rick Mears (USA) (b. December 3, 1951) in 1979, 1984, 1988 and 1991.

How many laps are in the Indy 500?

Well, you can start by saying that the Indy 500 consists of 200 laps around the track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, which means that the track is 2.5 miles long. That’s quite a trip for one lap…

Who was the first winner of the Indy 500?

Ray Harroun became the 1st winner of the Indy 500 car race in 1911.

What are the results of the Indy 500?

2019 Indy 500 Results: Simon Pagenaud wins 103rd Running of the Indianapolis 500 in thrilling finish Pole-sitter Simon Pagenaud outdueled Alexander Rossi to win the 103rd Indianapolis 500 in a breathtaking finish on NBC.