Where was the 2010 Winter Olympics ice hockey tournament held?

The men’s tournament in ice hockey at the 2010 Winter Olympics was held in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, from February 16–28, 2010. Games were hosted at two venues – Canada Hockey Place (renamed from “General Motors Place” for the Olympics due to IOC rules disallowing host…

Who was the organizer of the 2010 Winter Olympics?

Both the Olympic and Paralympic Games were organized by the Vancouver Organizing Committee (VANOC), headed by John Furlong. The 2010 Winter Olympics were the third Olympics hosted by Canada and the first by the province of British Columbia.

What was the cost of the Winter Olympics in 2010?

Pyongchang eventually hosted the 2018 Winter Olympics . In 2004, the operational cost of the 2010 Winter Olympics was estimated to be Canadian $1.354 billion (about £ 828,499,787, € 975,033,598 or US$ 1,314,307,896).

When did Vancouver win the bid to host the Olympics?

The team analyzed the candidate city features and provided its input back to the IOC. Vancouver won the bid to host the Olympics by a vote of the International Olympic Committee on July 2, 2003, at the 115th IOC Session held in Prague, Czech Republic. The result was announced by IOC President Jacques Rogge.

Who was in the Olympics for women’s hockey in 2010?

General Information Eight countries competed in women’s hockey at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, Canada. Canada won the gold, the United States the silver, and Finland the bronze. Countries Competing Pool A Canada Sweden

Where was ice hockey played in the Olympics?

Ice hockey at the 2010 Winter Olympics was held at Rogers Arena (then known as GM Place, and renamed Canada Hockey Place for the duration of the Games due to IOC sponsorship rules), home of the National Hockey League ‘s Vancouver Canucks, and at UBC Winter Sports Centre,…

Who was on the 2002 US Olympic hockey team?

In addition, Chris Pronger, Scott Niedermayer, Martin Brodeur and Jarome Iginla of Team Canada were returnees from the 2002 gold-winning squad and collected their second gold medal. Brian Rafalski and Chris Drury were the only players remaining from USA’s 2002 silver squad.


Who are the refs for the Olympic ice hockey final?

The referees for the final were Bill McCreary (Canada) and Dan O’Halloran (Canada), while the linesmen were Stefan Fonselius (Finland) and Jean Morin (Canada). The gold medal game was the last competitive event at the Olympics before the closing ceremony .