What is the local government Industry Award?

4.6 This award covers employers which provide group training services for apprentices and trainees engaged in the local government industry and those apprentices and trainees engaged by a group training service hosted by a company to perform work at a location where the activities described herein are being performed.

What are the LGC awards?

“The LGC Awards are about recognising the most exceptional local government talent – and in this year, of all years, we can really say that those shortlisted have put in a truly heroic performance..”

Does the Fair Work Act apply to local government employees?

State public sector and local government employees are not covered by the national system and remain under the state system. Some state public sector and local government employers have registered agreements in the national system. Employees covered by those registered agreements are within the national system.

What industry is local government?

Local government is responsible for a range of vital services for people and businesses in defined areas. Among them are well known functions such as social care, schools, housing and planning and waste collection, but also lesser known ones such as licensing, business support, registrar services and pest control.

What is an award fair work?

Awards provide pay rates and conditions of employment such as leave entitlements, overtime and shift work, amongst other workplace related conditions. These awards, with the National Employment Standards, provide a minimum safety net of terms and conditions of employment for all national system employees.

Who is not covered by Fairwork act?

You are not covered by the national workplace relations system if you: work in the state public sector or for a non-constitutional corporation in either local government or private industry in Western Australia. work in the state public sector or local government in New South Wales, Queensland or South Australia.

What are the problems facing local government?

The challenges were categorised under eight main themes: legal framework; lack of adequate tools, techniques and guidelines; human resource constraints; funding constraints; weaknesses in the internal systems and processes; weaknesses in the external systems; community engagement; and other challenges.

Can my employer threaten to not pay me?

An employer cannot refuse to pay you for work you have genuinely done. Both individual state and federal laws require employers to pay at least the minimum wage. Failing to make a payment on time or not paying at all would be a violation of state or federal labor laws.

Are sole traders covered by the Fair Work Act?

Since 1 January 2010, sole traders, partnerships, other unincorporated entities and non-trading corporations in New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia and Tasmania have been covered by the national system rather than their own specific state system.

What do you need to know about Government Leadership Awards?

The awards help spread best practices to other professionals across government at the federal, state, and local level. Any individual or organization can submit a nomination. Innovations must have been conceived, developed, deployed, or upgraded in the last two years to be eligible.

When did the local government industry award 2020 start?

1.1 This award is the Local Government Industry Award 2020. 1.2 This modern award commenced operation on 1 January 2010. The terms of the award have been varied since that date.

What are the ICMA Local Government Excellence Awards?

Hosted by the International City/County Management Association (ICMA), the Local Government Excellence Awards celebrate the value of professional management and creative contributions to professional local government leadership, and its impact on the quality of life in communities.

What are the National League of cities Leadership Awards?

In order to celebrate outstanding leadership and encourage innovative approaches to bridging the digital divide, National League of Cities , Next Century Cities, and Google Fiber host the Digital Inclusion Leadership Awards Program. The awards are given in two categories: Leader in Digital Inclusion Best Practices and Most Promising New Plan.