What is IFRS 9 in simple terms?

IFRS 9 is an accounting standard published by the International Accounting Standards Board covering the measurement of financial instruments, asset impairment and hedge accounting. Stage 3 assets, which are actually impaired, must have lifetime provisions and a reduction in expected interest payments.

What standard did IFRS 9 replace?

IFRS 9 replaces IAS 39, Financial Instruments – Recognition and Measurement. It is meant to respond to criticisms that IAS 39 is too complex, inconsistent with the way entities manage their businesses and risks, and defers the recognition of credit losses on loans and receivables until too late in the credit cycle.

What is IFRS 9 regulation and why is Bank required to follow IFRS 9?

The International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)’s IFRS 9 standards will require banks to recognise impairment sooner and estimate lifetime expected losses against a wider spectrum of assets.

What are the provisions of IFRS 9?

IFRS 9 is effective for annual periods beginning on or after 1 January 2018 with early application permitted. IFRS 9 specifies how an entity should classify and measure financial assets, financial liabilities, and some contracts to buy or sell non-financial items.

How is goodwill measured subsequent to acquisition?

Goodwill is calculated as the difference between the amount of consideration transferred from acquirer to acquiree and net identifiable assets acquired.

What are IFRS 9 models?

Similar to data requirements for stress testing, the IFRS 9 impairment model calls for a robust and well-defined data governance framework, with the data infrastructure providing enough granularity, risk control standards, and transparency across the management of the data life cycle.

What replaced IAS 39?

IFRS 9 Financial Instruments
The International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) published the final version of IFRS 9 Financial Instruments in July 2014. IFRS 9 replaces IAS 39 Financial Instruments: Recognition and Measurement, and is effective for annual periods beginning on or after January 1, 2018.

Did IFRS 9 replace IAS 39?

IFRS 9 replaces IAS 39, Financial Instruments – Recognition and Measurement. The IASB released updated versions of IFRS 9 as each phase was completed or amended, and, as each phase was finished, entities had the opportunity of adopting the updated version. The final standard was issued in July, 2014.

What are the 9 accounting standards?

Accounting Standard 9 (AS 9) is concerned with premises on the basis of which revenue is recognized in the statement of profit and loss of a business entity. This accounting standard deals with the recognition of revenue arising in the course of ordinary activities of the enterprise.

What is IFRS 9 in banking?

IFRS 9 is the International Accounting Standards Board’s (IASB) response to the financial crisis, aimed at improving the accounting and reporting of financial assets and liabilities. IFRS 9 replaces IAS 39 with a unified standard.

What are Stage 1 assets?

Definition. Stage 1 Assets, in the context of IFRS 9 are financial instruments that either have not deteriorated significantly in credit quality since initial recognition or have low credit risk.

How is goodwill measured under IFRS?

Goodwill is measured as the difference between: the net of the acquisition-date amounts of the identifiable assets acquired and the liabilities assumed (measured in accordance with IFRS 3).

What do you need to know about IFRS 9?

IFRS 9 requires an entity to recognise a financial asset or a financial liability in its statement of financial position when it becomes party to the contractual provisions of the instrument.

When does the new IFRS Standard come into effect?

IFRS 9 generally is effective for years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, with earlier adoption permitted. However, in late 2016 the IASB agreed to provide entities whose predominate activities are insurance related the option of delaying implementation until 2021. Why the new standard? IFRS 9 replaces IAS 39,

What makes a financial instrument a hedging instrument in IFRS 9?

IFRS 9 allows combinations of derivatives and non-derivatives to be designated as the hedging instrument. [IFRS 9 paragraph 6.2.5] Combinations of purchased and written options do not qualify if they amount to a net written option at the date of designation.

What makes a financial asset credit impaired under IFRS 9?

Credit-impaired financial asset. Under IFRS 9 a financial asset is credit-impaired when one or more events that have occurred and have a significant impact on the expected future cash flows of the financial asset. It includes observable data that has come to the attention of the holder of a financial asset about the following events: