What did the Spanish Constitution do?

The constitution declares that Spain is a constitutional monarchy and advocates the essential values of freedom, justice, equality, and political pluralism.

How many constitutions did Spain adopt?

The Fundamental Laws of the Realm (Spanish: Leyes Fundamentales del Reino) were a constitution in parts enacted through nearly 20 years starting in the 1950s….Table.

Name Constitution of 1845
In force 1845–1869
Form of government Constitutional monarchy
Democracy Parliament elected by censitary suffrage.

What is the Spanish Constitution called?

Constitución Española
The Spanish Constitution (Spanish, Asturleonese, and Galician: Constitución Española; Basque: Espainiako Konstituzioa; Catalan: Constitució Espanyola; Occitan: Constitucion espanhòla) is the democratic law that is supreme in the Kingdom of Spain.

What was the first constitution of Spain?

LA PEPA, 1812
On 19 March 1812, Spain’s first constitution was drawn up in Cadiz, enshrining the rights of Spanish citizens. Although it was not enacted for some years, its influence was considerable, both within peninsular Spain and its territories around the world.

What are the rights and duties of Spanish citizens?

1. Citizens have the right to participate in public affairs, directly or through representatives freely elected in periodic elections by universal suffrage. 2. They also have the right to accede under conditions of equality to public functions and positions, in accordance with the requirements laid down by the law.

How many powers are in the Constitution?

This includes the power to coin money, to regulate commerce, to declare war, to raise and maintain armed forces, and to establish a Post Office. In all, the Constitution delegates 27 powers specifically to the federal government. 2.

Does Spain have royal family?

The current Spanish royal family consists of the present king, King Felipe VI, the queen consort, Queen Letizia, their children Leonor, Princess of Asturias and Infanta Sofía of Spain, and the king’s parents, King Juan Carlos I and Queen Sofía.

When did Spain become democratic?

According to scholars, the democratization process kickstarted after the death of the dictator Francisco Franco, in November 1975. Historians disagree on the exact date the transition was completed: some say it ended after the 1977 general election, while others place it later, when the 1978 Constitution was approved.

Is Spain a democracy?

Spain is a multi-party constitutional parliamentary democracy. According to the constitution, political parties are the expression of political pluralism, contributing to the formation and expression of the will of the people, and are an essential instrument of political participation.

Is Spain a kingdom?

Spain is a secular parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, with King Felipe VI as head of state….Spain.

Kingdom of Spain Reino de España (Spanish) show 4 other names
Demonym(s) Spanish Spaniard
Government Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
• Monarch Felipe VI
• Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez

When was Spain a constitutional monarchy?

The Spanish Constitution of 1978 re-established a constitutional monarchy as the form of government for Spain after the end of the Francoist regime and the restoration of democracy by Adolfo Suárez in 1975.

Who abolished the Cortes?

1812 independent Spaniards adopted the Constitution of Cádiz, but in December 1813 Napoleon released Ferdinand expressly to overthrow it. When Ferdinand returned to Spain in 1814 he was urged by reactionaries to abolish the Cortes of Cádiz and all its works, which he did almost immediately.

What is the name of the Spanish Constitution?

The Spanish Constitution (Spanish: Constitución Española; Basque: Espainiako Konstituzioa; Catalan: Constitució Espanyola; Galician: Constitución Española; Occitan: Constitucion espanhòla) is the democratic law that is supreme in the Kingdom of Spain.

What does section 11 of the Spanish Constitution do?

Section 11 provides for the regulation by statute of Spanish nationality whilst providing for its inalienability for Spaniards. Section 12 establishes the age of majority in Spain at 18. Section 13 limits the entitlement of public freedoms to aliens to the provisions of statutes and international treaties.

Where was the Spanish Constitution of 1812 promulgated?

With the eruption of the Peninsular War to oust the French invaders. A new Cortes was summoned and met at Cádiz, which included Spanish American and Philippine delegates, and promulgated the Spanish Constitution of 1812.

What does Article 56 of the Spanish Constitution mean?

The Constitution dedicates its Part II to the regulation of the monarchy, which is referred to as The Crown (Spanish: La Corona). Article 56 of the Constitution establishes that the monarchy is the head of state and symbolizes the unity of the Spanish state.