What are the 8 Beatitudes in order?

The eight Beatitudes in Matthew:

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven. Blessed are those who mourn,
  • Looking at his disciples, he said: “Blessed are you who are poor, for yours is the kingdom of God.
  • “But woe to you who are rich, for you have already received your comfort.

What are the 8 Beatitudes examples?


  • “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.”
  • “Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”
  • “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.”
  • “Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.”

Who taught the Beatitudes?

Christ teaches the beatitudes to His disciples. It was when great multitudes of people followed the Lord that He “went up into a mountain” so He might be better seen and heard as He taught them.

What are the meanings of the Beatitudes?

Beatitude Meaning The word beatitude comes from the Latin beatitudo, meaning “blessedness.” The phrase “blessed are” in each beatitude implies a current state of happiness or well-being. This expression held a powerful meaning of “divine joy and perfect happiness” to the people of Christ’s day.

What are the 10 Commandments in order?

The Ten Commandments are:

  • “I am the Lord thy God, thou shalt not have any gods before Me.”
  • “Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.”
  • “Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.”
  • “Honor thy father and mother.”
  • “Thou shalt not kill.”
  • “Thou shalt not commit adultery.”
  • “Thou shalt not steal.”

Who said Blessed are the meek?

Matthew 5:5 is the fifth verse of the fifth chapter of the Gospel of Matthew in the New Testament. It is the third verse of the Sermon on the Mount, and also the third of what are known as the Beatitudes.

What are the modern Beatitudes?

Blessed are those who know how to relax without looking for excuses; they are on the way to becoming wise. Blessed are those who know when to be quiet and listen; they will learn a lot of new things. Blessed are those who are sane enough not to take themselves too seriously; they will be valued by those around them.

What is the first beatitude?

The first beatitude teaches that real happiness lies in recognizing and embracing our poverty, our need of God. When our eyes are opened, we see the futility of clinging to the lie of self-sufficiency and are freed to accept the help which comes only from God.

Why did Jesus give us the Beatitudes?

At first glance, the main purpose of the Beatitudes seems to be to offer various consolations to the downtrodden. But while Jesus does this, he also propounds a stern standard of judgment and offers strict guidance for good behavior for those who find themselves in a position of privilege.

What is the importance of the Beatitudes?

The purpose of the Beatitudes is to inspire Christians to live according to the traits Jesus describes. Some of these acts are simple, and some are grand, but they all form the cornerstone of the ideal Christian lifestyle. Therefore, living out the Beatitudes’ examples is very important for a Christian.

What is the main purpose of the Beatitudes?