What are the 6 classes of animals?

To keep them simple and easier to remember, the scientists had identify many groups of animals. The six main groups are: invertebrates, mammals, birds, amphibians, reptiles and fish.

What are the 5 classes in the kingdom Animalia?

The one phylum of vertebrates (animals with a backbone) is further classified into five different classes—mammals, birds, fish, reptiles and amphibians.

What are the main classes of animals?

Vertebrates and invertebrates are divided into smaller groups. Vertebrates, for example, are divided into fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. There are many different groups of invertebrates too. They include invertebrates which have soft bodies such as jellyfish, worms and molluscs (like slugs and squids).

What are the 5 classes of vertebrate?

Vertebrates can be subdivided into five major groups: fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals. Amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals are ranked as classes….Vertebrate Classification.

Class Major Features Example
Aves (birds) Endothermy Feathers Forelimbs are wings Bird

What are the 5 types of mammals?


  • Monotremes Mammals.
  • Marsupial Mammals.
  • Placental Mammals.

What are the 7 animal classifications?

There are seven major levels of classification: Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species. The two main kingdoms we think about are plants and animals.

What are animal kingdom classes?

In biological classification, class (Latin: classis) is a taxonomic rank, as well as a taxonomic unit, a taxon, in that rank. Other well-known ranks in descending order of size are life, domain, kingdom, phylum, order, family, genus, and species, with class fitting between phylum and order.

What are animal classifications?

The primary method of animal classification is:

  • Domain.
  • Kingdom.
  • Phylum.
  • Class.
  • Order.
  • Suborder.
  • Animal Families.
  • Genus.

How many classes of animals are there?

The following is a list of the classes in each phylum of the kingdom Animalia. There are 107 classes of animals in 33 phyla in this list.

How are animals classified Class 8?

They place them in a hierarchy of groupings, beginning with the kingdom animalia and proceeding through phyla, classes, orders, families, genera and species.

What are the 4 types of animals?

Basic Types of Animals and Their Characteristics

  • Animals with a backbone are vertebrates.
  • Vertebrates belong to the phylum called Phylum Chordata.
  • Vertebrates are further broken down into five classes: amphibians, birds, fish, mammals, and reptiles.
  • Animals without a backbone are invertebrates.

What are the 5 classifications of animals?

The generally accepted levels of classification of organisms are (1)Domain,(2)Kingdom, (3)Phylum, (4)Class, (5)Order, (6)Family, (7)Genus, and (8)Species. Every animal can be classified according to this system. These levels start out broadly and get narrower and narrower as you go down the levels.

What are the five main groups in animals?

Materials Needed

  • Concepts to Be Covered. Wild animals require four basic habitat components: food,water,cover,and space.
  • Goals for the Lesson. Students will be able to categorize the five groups of animals (mammals,fish,birds,reptiles,and amphibians).
  • Methods.
  • Evaluation.
  • Reference.
  • What are the 4 classes of animals?

    There are four primary groups: Rodentia (mice, rats, and other small animals with fast-growing teeth), Chiroptera (bats), Carnivora (dogs, cats, bears, and other carnivores), and Cetartiodactyla (numerous herbivore species, such as deer, sheep, goats, buffalos , and whales).

    What are the categories of animals?

    Classification Categories. According to the system set up by Linnaeus , all animals are classified into seven categories: kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus and species.