What are the 4 stages of infancy and childhood?

In these lessons, students become familiar with the four key periods of growth and human development: infancy (birth to 2 years old), early childhood (3 to 8 years old), middle childhood (9 to 11 years old), and adolescence (12 to 18 years old).

What are the 5 stages of infant development?

The five stages of child development include the newborn, infant, toddler, preschool and school-age stages. Children undergo various changes in terms of physical, speech, intellectual and cognitive development gradually until adolescence. Specific changes occur at specific ages of life.

What are the stages of a child?

Other scholars describe six stages of child development that include newborns, infants, toddlers, preschool, school age, and adolescents.

What is infancy development in early childhood?

In the first year, babies learn to focus their vision, reach out, explore, and learn about the things that are around them. Cognitive, or brain development means the learning process of memory, language, thinking, and reasoning. Learning language is more than making sounds (“babble”), or saying “ma-ma” and “da-da”.

What are the 3 stages of child development?

Early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence represent the 3 stages of child development. Each stage is organized around the primary tasks of development for that period. Early childhood (usually defined as birth to year 8) is a time of tremendous physical, cognitive, socio-emotional, and language development.

What are the 4 stages of development according to Piaget?

Piaget’s four stages of intellectual (or cognitive) development are:

  • Sensorimotor. Birth through ages 18-24 months.
  • Preoperational. Toddlerhood (18-24 months) through early childhood (age 7)
  • Concrete operational. Ages 7 to 11.
  • Formal operational. Adolescence through adulthood.

What are the 7 stages of development PDF?

Infant Development.

  • Toddler Development.
  • Preschooler Development.
  • Middle Childhood Development.
  • Adolescent Development.
  • Adult Development.
  • How long is the infant stage?

    Infants can be considered children anywhere from birth to 1 year old. Baby can be used to refer to any child from birth to age 4 years old, thus encompassing newborns, infants, and toddlers.

    What is infancy and toddlerhood?

    infant and toddler development, the physical, emotional, behavioral, and mental growth of children from ages 0 to 36 months. Fast Facts.

    What is the meaning of infancy stage?

    Infancy is the period from birth through the completion of the 12th month of life. Infancy represents the most pronounced period of postnatal growth. A child doubles the birth weight by 5 months and triples it by 12 months of age. Length increases by 50% by the end of the first year of life.

    What are the characteristics of infancy stage?

    Crawling may begin. Infant can walk while holding an adult’s hand. Infant is able to sit steadily, without support, for long periods of time….Infant – newborn development

    • Cognitive.
    • Language.
    • Physical, such as fine motor skills (holding a spoon, pincer grasp) and gross motor skills (head control, sitting, and walking)
    • Social.

    What ages are infants and toddlers?

    Different milestones characterize each stage of infant (0 to 12 months) and toddler (12 to 36 months) development. Although most healthy infants and toddlers reach each milestone within a specific window of time, there is much variation as to how wide that window may be.

    What are the characteristics of the infancy stage?

    1) Trust 2) Independence 3) Initiative

    What is the first stage of adolescent growth?

    The first stage of adolescent growth is height. Height increases in stage two of puberty, which is approximately between the ages of eight and fourteen for girls and approximately between ages nine to 15 for boys.

    What is the second stage of growth?

    In the second stage of economic growth the economy undergoes a process of change for building up of conditions for growth and take off. Rostow said that these changes in society and the economy had to be of fundamental nature in the socio-political structure and production techniques.

    What occurs during some stages of development?

    Five Stages of Child Development Newborn. During the first month of life, newborns exhibit automatic responses to external stimuli. Infant. Infants develop new abilities quickly in the first year of life. Toddler. As children reach the ages between one and three years, toddlers learn to walk without help, climb stairs and jump in place. Preschool. School age.